Sami Dolls Flutter Sleeve Romper Pattern Review

Please note this pattern is my own choice and words and was not asked for. I am writing this review after buying this pattern and using it.

I am reviewing the Flutter Sleeve Romper by Sami Dolls.

I bought this pattern after needing a 12-14 inch doll outfit. Now it is designed for waldorf dolls that I’ve come to realise have a shorter body than another sort of doll so first off I had to lengthen the torso which is easy to do with it being a 2 piece outfit. I simply added about an inch to the waist.

image

The outfit itself is adorable and super easy to make with a lined bodice. Again waldorf have a different body so I found making the arm hole slightly bigger worked better for my dolls arm movement with a touch added to side seams (about 0.5cm). Despite this I have used this pattern a lot and for me was worth the buy.

 

image

Once I figured out the bodice and found it a great fit I used it for other things dresses mostly. Just add a circle skirt or gathered skirt and voila cute dresses!!  The sleeves from both I took from a doll blouse pattern I scaled down. The tartan dress was made from adult pj pants and the black dress is lace layered over gold tulle and black cotton with lace and ribbon added to bodice.

image image

I also used the same pattern to make an 8 inch doll version. Now the pattern does come for 8-18 inch dolls but I found again there was slight extra needed for a baby doll. I found on my smaller doll it gaped at the neck and pull on the crotch area so adding extra to waist would have helped or to bottom of bodice.

12373209_1092043844161399_7235262797388800165_n

GOOD POINTS

  • multi sized pattern that is very cute
  • great instructions, clear pattern and uses very little fabric
  • can be used for other garments with a bit of creativity.

BAD POINTS

  • I wish I could make more but I’m afraid I don’t have the space!
  • It would be good to have instructions for altering for other types of dolls and would make this pattern worth it to a wider audience saying that it’s not really a negative.

I love this pattern and will continue to use it! I would love to make it for a bigger doll that is more real baby size.

tracy

Leave a Reply

