Cardigan, hat and shoe baby set

This was my last complete item of 2015! It was inspired by fair isle cardigans I had seen but didn’t quite match the yarn I had so using some patterns I made my own set with saami inspired colours. Please note I work in american crochet terms.

IMG_1847

  IMG_1851 Click the picture for cardigan link. I used Stylecraft special DK in white and lipstick and Scachenmayr Bravo color in Rio

I used Karen’s X stitch Baby Cardigan for this one. I followed up to row 9 as per pattern alternating colours with 2 white rows between last yoke row. I then did DC rows to row 15 as I wanted this for a boy. Row 16 was a sc cross stitch row, followed by white sc row and another sc cross stitch row. Finishing with a DC row. Then without fastening off as per pattern I edged the hem, neck and button edges with sc.

For sleeves I did one DC row in white then red row in DC cross stitch to mirror the rows on main body. I then continued for 4 rows doing DC. Next row was sc cross stitch follow by row  9 of original pattern in white and a last row of sc cross stitch. I finished with row 10 in white and row 11 done 3 times as I felt the sleeves to be too short for a newborn.

I then added 5 plain white buttons for fastening matching them up with 3 rows between each.

IMG_1850

Click the picture above for hat pattern

For the hat I used the Mathieu pattern by Mamma that Makes. This is a newborn size made in 10 ply yarn but I only had 8 ply. So I used 4.5 mm hook and it worked up great for a newborn head. I added an extra DC row at end to bring it further down onto ears and fits great.

IMG_1855

I had more issue with shoes I wanted mary jane style shoes that would suit boys and girls but most were for 9 cm feet and I needed 8-8.5cm. So I used Mary Jane Skimmer Booties from Craftsy. You will need to sign up if not already but it is free. I used 3-6 month pattern with 8 ply yarn and a 3.5 mm hook. The shoes are still slightly loose so would recommend using 0-3 pattern or just using socks to help bulk the foot out. I chose to use the coloured yarn for base of foot to keep main body of shoe plain and matching.

IMG_1848

Hope you like and would be great to see your colour versions of this set.

tracy

4 thoughts on “Cardigan, hat and shoe baby set

Leave a Reply

