Crochet Hat Pattern Reviews

So this week I decided to make the kids winter hats. I hate hate hate making hats I find them so tempermental at times I avoid them so these are the first hats my kids will have made by me.

I then offered to make a friend some hats for her kids so I’ve 4 hats and a scarf to do this week.

I decided to start on  my youngests hat first test the pattern out and the fit too.

I found this one but it was adult size and I needed age 4. Anyway I thought I’ll find a childs hat pattern then just do this pattern on smaller scale. I found this didn’t work at all as this pattern uses DC (US) and the child size uses HDC (US)

Click for link

On the same site I found an earflap hat pattern so decided to do simple rows with same colours. I found it didn’t work for whatever reason it was taking me ages and not looking right.

You know when you just get a feel and you’re not happy. Your idea isn’t working. So I gave up undid it and started searching again. If I was to make an adult hat this would be brill so don’t think I’m being negative about the pattern it was all me.

 

 

 

 

 

I went searching again and found one. It is on Ravelry as a download and you need to be a member so a bit difficult to link but it’s called Earflap hat and beanie with clip-on flower by Zuleika Lambe. I have lined the Ravelry link for those who have access. I chose to do it in same colours as above because that’s what drew me to that hat in the first place.

The only thing I found for my children was an extra row was needed. The pattern suggests adding a row for adults but in reality I think 1 more for children and 2-3 for adults maybe. However the pattern was super quick and if you don’t stop a lot like me these are easy to finish in an hour or two.

For my youngest I made him the age 2-5 years size and for my eldest I made the age 5- teenagers size. They are a perfect fit for both and I like how they aren’t too dense. I personally get too hot in hats so hoping with the looser effect they’ll be worn longer.

imageimageimage

My eldest asked for a pom-pom and I have no pom pom maker but I remembered the fork trick. I find I don’t use enough wool thought and they end up a bit rubbish. So this one I knew I had to make it thicker. I also wanted a bigger one than any fork in this house. Genius here decided a spatula/fish slice was the perfect size and to be fair it was.

image imageimage

Can you work out where I went wrong before I tell you? Yup you use a fork because you need to be able to get it off AFTER it’s tied up. After some strong man hands holding onto the cut ends we got a pom pom. In future I won’t use a spatula and may invest in a huge fork.

image image

I set off making a monster high inspired hat for a friends daughter. I wanted to do this cheaply so I found a skull pattern, which again is a download. There is also this one: Skull Applique.

image

The Dinosaur hat has its own pattern but I used the same pattern as others but added the details from original pattern. My main reason was the earflap hat was faster and the dinosaur hat is all SC which I don’t mind but not 34 rows. Again no disrespect to the hat I just don’t like making them.

I found the teeth a bit fiddly but it all came together and you can make it sensible or kooky.

image image image

All the hats were happily received fit well and look great!

tracy

Leave a Reply

