Home made beauty

Over at Cavern of Craftiness blog Sammy challenged a few of us to try home made beauty recipes.

I opted to try (ok well I opted Daddy Critter to try) deodorant  hair treatment & foot treatment for cracked heels.

First deodorant. I mixed equal parts of cornflour & baking powder. I gradually added coconut oil till it went to a smooth paste. 

100_0354

The coconut oil comes solid so will have to melt a little. I just popped it in a cup in a bowl of hot water.

100_0355

Its hard to describe the texture but will be almost like a dry paste that’s very matt & smooth looking.

100_0356

Daddy Critter rides a bike a lot (pedal kind)  & tested this over 2 days. He favours the use of natural products & has reported them to be a little useless unless reapplied numerous times which isn’t always that easy.

You can put this in an old wind up deodorant ‘case’ for ease of use which means great recycling opportunity.

His verdict of this? worked fab!! Lot less sweat & smells & feel so much nicer. We added couple drops of tea tree oil & he much preferred the smell as a lot of natural are scentless or very mild.

The hair treatment I tried was olive oil. It is meant to help make hair super shiney so was excited to try. At this point I totally forgot to do before picture so here is an old photo taken next to a bright window to show you how my hair normally looks. This was also after a dye job so was a bit shiny from that.

CIMG9031

I applied this to me hair prior to a shower. After 20 minutes I washed it off. It was super easy to wash out & also helps work for cradle cap leaving Baby Critters hair super soft.  This is after its brushed but still wet.

Photo0443

This is dried

Photo0444

This is straightened.

Photo0445

This is with hair product added.

Photo0446

As you can see by last picture my hair has a certain shine to it compared to other pictures. My hair that day was a lot more manageable & soft but it lacked body. I wouldn’t say was limp but was definitely less full as usual.

It stayed that way the following day also & had no grease issue. The shine factor for me failed. I would use again to keep my hair under control but not for shine.

For future tests it would be worth trying the oil warmed up, used overnight, used on clean hair & rewashed & even trying different oils.

I suffer a lot with cracked heels. I dislike socks so believe this doesn’t help. I looked after my feet but the cracks appear so quickly & so dramatically its difficult.

It was suggested I try mashed up banana but I decided to avoid that option & sought my own.

First I tried coconut oil for 2 days, my feet were same.

Then tried aloe vera gel ( yes not home made but natural & sometimes used in home made recipes) & was useless also. I found this actually hurt a little when applied so was maybe working a little but slowly too slow for me!

Photo0468

My last option was lemon sugar scrub. Smell is lush to start with. 

Its 2 cups of sugar mixed with 1/4 cup of olive oil, recipe said almond or coconut but I used olive oil. I also added a squeeze of lemon juice but you can use essential oil if prefer.

  CIMG9702 

I resembled slighlty wet fluffy snow without being oily or sticky from either main ingredient. I tested it on my hand to start with just to check consistency was right.

CIMG9703

Don’t rub too hard cos this is tough stuff but works wonderfully. Left us all with lovely soft skin & not a hint of stickiness you can store in air tight container.

TRACY 🙂

Leave a Reply

