Recycling fun

So after the ‘big’ move a lot has changed one being our waste collection. Before we moved our waste was collected weekly & recycling once a fortnight. They’d take everything binbags & all form of recyclable materials.

New house area however they take waste every other week & recycling weekly but they don’t recycle plastic, cardboard & tetra pak which poses a problem for us because majority of our recycling is just that! Formula tubs, juice cartons, milk cartons, cordial bottles, food trays etc etc.

green_box

So worried about the fact I’d be throwing these away & filling up my bin before was due for collection again I sought help from the council website & good news I can apply for a second waste bin but…. I have to show I’m using recycling facilities to its full advantage & think about creating less waste so I took that as a personal challenge & thought to myself perfect blog material.

So here’s what I came up with 😀

GLASS

Baby jars: we use coconut oil for all the family. So I used a small baby jar to pop some in for next to the change mat. These are NOT recommended for freezing as the manufacturers designed them for food storage & have not been safely made for freezers. If you do risk it make sure to check them over thoroughly for cracks if you spot one chuck it away food & jar.

CIMG9517

These are also handy for buttons, beads & other craft items & look pretty on your shelf too.

PLASTIC

Carrier bags: We get our food shop over the internet & end up with a huge bag of bags at end but we can give them back the next time they come! They reuse & recycle them .

CIMG9487

I also always have a bag for life wherever I go especially if I know I’m off to the shops.

CIMG9498

Means less cheap ones cluttering up my house & a bag for life is bigger & stronger. Certain shops you earn points for taking your own bag.

Food pots: Often when making stir fry, homemade pizza or other multi ingredient meals I like to pre-cut, pre-grate, pre-crush all my ingredients & pop  in bowls for easier access. Instead I used a washed out strawberry punnet tray saves washing bowls.

CIMG9497

I used this dip pot for my garlic inside my spice cupboard. Stops the flaky skin messing up my cupboard & I don’t lose stray cloves.

CIMG9494

The lid for these have 2 good uses: cup rest & spoon rest. I favoured the second choice over first.

CIMG9502CIMG9505

This had baby food inside & is fairly strong for a ‘throw away’ tub so my idea for this??? Well reuse for baby food of course. I would not recommend to freeze this though its good for food you plan to offer the next day.

CIMG9504

Mushroom tray makes a good cheese tray for the fridge. No more ripped packets spilling crumbs all over.

CIMG9491

Yoghurt & cream pots are prefect shape & height for spoons & pens. I store the baby spoons separate from everyone else’s & this provides easy access to one.

CIMG9492  CIMG9501

Instead of buying plastic bottle when out & about & throwing away take your own washable water bottle. Has bonus of being healthy & is fab for encouraging young children to keep hydrated. It is also considered unsafe to wash out throwaway water or pop bottles because they aren’t designed for this & can leach unsavoury ingredients from plastic to the water.

CIMG9495

Milk carton bird feeder. cut hole like a door, hang string, fill with nuts,your done. Its that easy.

CIMG9507CIMG9508

CIMG9650

Straws used for water & mild juice can be rinsed out & reused. I would only suggest reusing once and never for milk.

CIMG9496

Yoghurt pots make great paint & glue pots & although would chuck after use saves mummy or daddy washing out pots.

Baby juice bottles have multi use. Big bottles make good shakers, bird feeders & skittles. The smaller bottles make good mini set of skittles.

Watch out for my pop bottle tutorial coming soon.

PAPER

Envelopes: Some areas won’t take window envelopes so rip the plastic off chuck rest in with the paper.

CIMG9489

Newspaper is fab for polishing windows & mirrors as well as good packaging for house moves then you can throw in the recycling after.

Paper bags you might get at some shops make perfect gift bags. Spruce them up or leave plain.

100_0353

CARDBOARD

Cereal boxes make excellent book & magazine holders. Here’s a tutorial.

 CIMG9536

Kitchen or toilet roll inners can be used to make cheap rain makers  Here’s my tutorial does require paper clips so as long as have those in your set.

CIMG9571

Tissue boxes often get chucked here so to save more rubbish I plan to buy the refill packs & here is my tutorial for a fabric tissue box cover to pretty up your box to refill.

CIMG9670

MISCELLANEOUS

Here we get a food waste bin for all the scraps, potato peelings & gone off food we accumulate. Other ways to use up stale food is to chuck it out for the birds: crackers, bread etc or go feed the ducks at local park.

Instead of food ties you chuck after use buy some food clips. These are a lot more effective at staying put therefore keeping food fresh & less food waste from stale food.

    CIMG9500

Need to write a list but stick of wasting paper get a wipe board pen & use the fridge! I would suggest not leaving your list up too long or using as a doodle board because not really designed for this use & over time may stain but in a rush it’s a fab use of a dull fridge.

CIMG9486

Washable items like cloths & nappies can go a long way. Cloths especially can be thrown in the wash with other washing no trouble & tend to last longer. Cloth nappies raise different views which I would say is good for another blog.

Baby formula cans are made from tetra pak as are not always recyclable by many councils so are a huge waste.

We get our food shop over the internet & end up with a huge bag of bags at end but we can give them back the next time they come! They reuse & recycle them .

CIMG9487

I also always have a bag for life or canvas/material bag wherever I go especially if I know I’m off to the shops.

CIMG9498

Means less cheap ones cluttering up my house & a bag for life is bigger & stronger. Certain shops you earn points for taking your own bag.

I really enjoyed doing all this & hope it helped you think about how to reuse your waste.

tracy

Leave a Reply

